2018 Convocation awards students, faculty, scholars

Category:  News
Wednesday, April 25th, 2018 at 6:14 PM
2018 Convocation awards students, faculty, scholars by Hannah McDonald
Photo: Madi Gross

Scholarly members of the Edinboro University community were honored Friday at the University Academic Honors Convocation ceremony.

“We have come together this afternoon for our most prestigious ceremony as a university, outside of commencement itself,” Dr. Stacie Wolbert, interim dean of students and associate provost, said as she welcomed the crowd which filled Louis C. Cole Auditorium.

Members of the Edinboro Honor’s College, academic department award winners, ROTC cadets, Academic Honors Society members and outstanding scholar athletes were all honored.

“It’s a pleasure to join other members of the Edinboro University community today in recognizing the accomplishments of our students and faculty members who embody our commitment to excellence and individual achievement,” Interim Edinboro University President Dr. Michael Hannan said. 

Dr. Paul Rovang was the faculty speaker, who was awarded EU’s Scholar of The Year in 2017. He has been part of the department of English and philosophy since 1995. 

Following Rovang’s speech, students who will graduate and wear honors stoles at commencement were recognized. Summa Cum Laude, Magna Cum Laude and Cum Laude awards were also given to students. 

Outstanding students in academic departments were honored, as well. The Outstanding Departmental Graduate Award is a red honor cord which is worn at graduation. 

Timothy W. Meyers, Christopher Qyesiku and Dr. Carmen Quatman were honored with the distinguished alumni awards before Hannan invited faculty members to return to the stage for the final awards of the ceremony.

“I would like to extend congratulations and thanks also to our distinguished faculty members whom we are honoring with our faculty member, scholar and advisor of the year awards this afternoon,” Hannan said. 

Dr. Tim Thompson was honored as the Faculty Member of The Year. Thompson, who is chair of the communications, journalism and media department, joined Edinboro faculty nearly three decades ago in 1990. He is the founder of the Edinboro University Highland Games and Scottish Festival. Thompson continues to use this event to celebrate Edinboro’s heritage and as a hands-on learning experience for students in his classes. 

“Dr. Thompson describes his learning style as using active strategies within high-impact practices to provide students a rich educational experience,” Wolbert said. 

Earning the award for Scholar of The Year was Dr. Robert Hass of the English and philosophy department. “Dr. Hass is a respected national and international authority on the work of American poet Robert Frost,” Wolbert said. 

Dr. Lenore Barbian came forward when honored as the Advisor of The Year. Barbian has been a member of Edinboro University’s department of criminal justice, anthropology and forensic studies since 2006. 

“She is a fellow of Edinboro University’s Institute for Forensic Sciences, which she co-founded with colleagues in 2014,” Wolbert said. Barbian has also served as a curator for the National Museum of Health and Medicine in Washington D.C. and as a physical anthropologist with the American Museum of Natural History in New York City.

Wolbert continued, “Her message to students is that success requires persistence and in the face of setbacks, she tries to identify and share strategies that will help them succeed.”

As Barbian leaves this message with her students, Hannan also had a sentiment that soon-to-be graduates could take with them following commencement on May 12.

“Through talent and hard work, our honorees have all truly excelled,” Hannan said. “You have all made us extremely proud.” 

Hannah McDonald is the news editor for The Spectator. She can be reached at eupnews.spectator@gmail.com.

View Our YouTube Channel
Edinboro TV
Find Us on Instagram