2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees announced

Categories:  Music    The Arts
Thursday, January 30th, 2020 at 6:53 PM

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio announced the Class of 2020 this month, and it’s a group of artists and bands who have greatly impacted the music macrocosm.

The Hall will induct six celebration-worthy bands and artists — The Doobie Brothers, The Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails and T. Rex — along with two more men, Jon Landau and Irving Azoff, who made great strides in management and production. The latter two will be recipients of the Ahmet Ertegun Award, an honor given only to people who have produced or managed some of the greatest artists.

Marc Bolan, the man who pioneered the glam rock genre (even before his friend and rival David Bowie), exploded in popularity in the U.K. and beyond due to his sex appeal, his mystical and whimsical appearance, incredibly unique guitar work, and heavily sexual songs with his group T. Rex. Around the same time in America, The Doobie Brothers were perfecting their ability to create beautiful harmonies and write catchy tunes.

During the ‘80s, electronic music was becoming extremely popular, and Depeche Mode contributed a whole discography of records that made them synonymous with the terms “synth-pop” or “new wave.” At the end of the decade, Trent Reznor blew the world away by bringing the previously underground industrial genre to the forefront with his project Nine Inch Nails. In later years, he and newest member of NIN, Atticus Ross, have ventured into the realm of film scores; their work includes the music for “Gone Girl” and “The Social Network.”

Houston, who had one of the greatest voices in music history, dominated the charts in the ’80s and ’90s with her powerful and angelic vocals.
The Notorious B.I.G. was one of the most important artists in the hip-hop and rap scene, and his work is still widely beloved today.

As for the Ahmet Ertegun Award recipients, Landau is a renowned producer and journalist. He is also known for managing Bruce Springsteen, as well as being part of the nominating committee for the Hall itself. Azoff is a rock manager who is well-known for being the CEO and chairman of Ticketmaster, along with executive chairman of Live Nation.

Last year’s inductees included gothic rock band The Cure, alternative-rock group Radiohead, glam rock outfit Roxy Music, arena rock band Def Leppard, pop giant Janet Jackson, psychedelic rock band The Zombies, and rock queen Stevie Nicks, inducted as an artist in her own right after being previously inducted along with the members of Fleetwood Mac.

The nominees will be formally inducted into the Hall during a live televised (HBO) ceremony taking place at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland.

This will be the first time the Hall has broadcast the ceremony live; in previous years it was pre-recorded. The ceremony is projected to feature induction speeches from the inductees and their inductors, as well as musical performances from the artists themselves, or in some cases, an in memoriam performance for those artists who have left us too soon. The inductors are not known to the public at this time.

View Our YouTube Channel
Edinboro TV
Find Us on Instagram