Edinboro community seeking nominations for MLK award

Category:  News
Wednesday, November 30th, 2016 at 4:42 PM

The Edinboro community is now accepting nominations for recipients of the 20th annual Martin Luther King Jr. award, which is an award presented annually at Edinboro University to an individual whose lifestyle and work promote the legacy of the civil rights leader.

Since 1997, the award has honored numerous citizens in the northwestern Pennsylvania region who have exemplified Martin Luther King Jr.’s spirit and philosophy through their communal accomplishments.

Past recipients include Edinboro University professor Dr. Joseph Laythe, Erie civil rights activist Howard Horton, educator Cathy Hutchison, and last year’s recipient, Erie community leader Lawanda Bender- Goodwine.

Additionally, this year at the luncheon the first recipient of the Dr. Joseph Laythe Award, an award dedicated to recognizing an Edinboro University student who stands up for equality both on and off campus, will be presented. The new award was created in the memory of Laythe.

All nominations for the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. award and the Dr. Joseph Laythe award can be submitted to the Martin Luther King Jr. Awards Committee by sending them to:

Ms. Cyndi Waldinger
220 Frank G. Pogue Student Center 405 Scotland Road
Edinboro, Pa. 16444
Nominations can also be emailed to cwaldinger@edinboro.edu.

Nominations must include contact information for both the nominee and the nominator, along with detailed examples of the nominee’s achievements.

Deadline for all nominations is Friday, Dec. 9 by 4:30 p.m. The award will be presented to the selected candidate at the annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award luncheon in February. 

Macala Leigey is the news editor for The Spectator. She can be reached at eupnews.spectator@gmail.com.

Tags: news, mlk award

View Our YouTube Channel
Edinboro TV
Find Us on Instagram