Homecoming candidates battle during Penny Wars this year

Category:  News
Wednesday, September 26th, 2018 at 6:38 PM

There was an interesting wrinkle to the selection of the Edinboro homecoming court this year, with the 2018 Penny Wars as part of the selection process. 

The unique voting technique featured eight teams and 17 candidates for the Homecoming 2018 court and took place in the Frank G. Pogue Student Center near the food court until Thursday, Sept. 27.

Teams were Taylor Allison and Jared Hladycz, labeled in purple, Amanda Kwandras and Dylan Hollingsworth in yellow, Ashley Matse and Kas Dolan in peach, Courtney Weber and Arick Shankles in red, Alyssa Briglio, Sierra Brown, and Nicholas Gregory in blue, Brittnee Tenon and Niah Laughery in pink, Madison Gilbert and Nathan McKinney in green, and Alex McClintock with Jacob Reilly in orange. 

As stated on a flyer, “All of the money donated will go toward the charity of the winner’s choosing.”

The rules for coins were as follows: One penny equals adding one point, while each nickel subtracts five points, each dime subtracts 10 points and each quarter subtracts 25 points. 

Dollar bills subtract points also, with $1 subtracting 100 points, $5 subtracting 500, $10 subtracting 1,000 and $20 subtracting 2,000. As the announcement stated: “support your favorite candidates by adding pennies to their jugs and/or sabotage the other candidates by adding silver coins or bills to their jug.”

Winners for the court will be announced Friday, Sept. 28 at 7 p.m. during the Homecoming pregame.

Amber Chisholm can be reached at eupnews.spectator@gmail.com.

View Our YouTube Channel
Edinboro TV
Find Us on Instagram